Skip navigation

Techfest 2008

Many of the prominent and world famous personalities are coming this time in both of the IIT’s .The Technical Festival of IIT’s have been endowed by the lecture series of world most far-famed personalities which comes and gather under one roof to share there experience with the world of student round them.IIT’s technical festival are day by day getting popularity on the global scale and it is clearly refelected from the fact, that the visitors list in the lecture series contains some gaints and supremos.
Apart from the popular lecture series, Techfest has undertaken a new initiative this year in the form of interactive talks which will cater to a niche audience. These talks will provide a unique opportunity to the students where they can interact with experts in their respective fields.

Techfest 2008 Lecture Series :-

  • Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (Former President of India)

  • Mr. Narayana Murthy (Chairman, Infosys)

  • Prof. John Nash Jr. (Nobel Laureate)

  • Dr. Jayant Narlikar (eminent astrophysicist)

  • Mr. Rajat Gupta (CEO, McKinsey and Co.)

  • Prof. Kevin Warwick (first human cyborg)

Here is the list of the Lecture Series held at Techfest which is awe-inspiring.

  • Prof U.R. Rao (1998) – Ex-chairman of ISRO and one of the top 10 space personalities (Space News)
  • Prof. Jayant Naralikar (1998) – Professor Emeritus and Founder Director of Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA)
  • Prof. D.B. Phatak (1998) – Head, KReSIT, IIT Bombay
  • Mr. Mark Lunsford (1998) – AMD
  • Mr. Sam Pitroda (1998) – Chairman of the Knowledge Commission, India and Chairman of World-Tel
  • Mr. N.R. Narayana Murthy (1999) – Chief Mentor and Ex-chairman of Infosys
  • Sir Roger Penrose (1999) – Renowned mathematical physicist from Oxford, England
  • Dr Upinder Bhalla (1999) – Leading figure from field of neurocomputing, TIFR Bangalore
  • Mr. Vinod Dham (1999) – “Father of Pentium”
  • Mr. Mike Walsche (1999) – A pioneer of immersive virtual reality
  • Dr. Jaswinder Pal Singh (2000) – Computer science Department, Princeton University
  • Mr. S. Ramadorai (2000) – CEO, Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)
  • Dr. H. Paul Shuch (2000) – Executive Director, The SETI League, USA
  • Prof Mohanbir Sawhney (2001) – Kellogg Graduate School of Management
  • Mr. Alyque Padamsee (2001) – Media and Ad Guru
  • Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2002) – Honourable President of India
  • Mr. Rajat Gupta (2002) – CEO, McKinsey and Co
  • Dr. P.G. Poonacha (2002) – Vice President (R&D), Sasken
  • Dr. Ehud Shapiro (2002) – Originator of DNA Computing, Wiezmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Dr. Richard M. Stallman (2003) – Founder and President of GNU and the FSF
  • Dr. Bernhard Schoelkopf (2003) – Director, Max Plank Institute of Biological Cybernetics
  • Mr. Ajit Balakrishnan (2003) – CEO,
  • Mr. Ankit Fadia (2003) – 17 year old whiz kid and author of “The Unofficial Guide to Ethical Hacking”
  • Prof. Kevin Warwick (2004) – Professor of Cybernetics at the University of Reading, UK
  • Prof.Dr.-Ing. Bharat Balasubramanian (2004) – Vice President of ‘Engineering Technologies’, Daimler Chrysler
  • Prof Yash Pal (2004) – Popular Indian scientist, creator of ‘Turning Point’ – a science show for kids on Doordarshan
  • Dr. Raghuram Rajan (2004) – Chief Economist of the International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  • Prof. Alex Pentland (2004) – Ex academic head MIT Labs, Founder Director Media Labs Asia
  • Dr. Narendra Bhandari (2004) – Member of the moon mission task force constituted by ISRO
  • Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan (2005) – Ex chairman of ISRO
  • Dr. P Gopalakrishnan (2005) – Director of the IBM India Research Laboratory
  • Dr. Stephen Wolfram (2005) – Creator of Mathematica, founder and CEO, Wolfram Research
  • Dr. Andrew Harrison (2005) – Professor of Solid State Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh
  • Dr. Rodney Brooks (2006) – Director of CSAIL at MIT, chairman and CTO of iRobot Corporation
  • Dr. Amar Bose (2006) – Chairman of the Board and Technical Director of the Bose Corporation
  • Dr. Sam Pitroda (2006) – Chairman and CEO of World-Tel Limited, Chairman of the Knowledge Commission, India
  • Dr. Anil Gupta (2006) – Chief Co-ordinator, Honey Bee Network and Executive-Vice Chair, National Innovation Foundation (NIF)
  • Mr. Mark Shuttleworth (2006) – Second ‘space tourist’ and entrepreneur and innovator
  • Prof. Kevin Warwick (2007) – Professor of Cybernetics, University of Reading, United Kingdom
  • Dr. John Forbes Nash Jr (2007) – Senior Research Mathematician, Department of Mathematics at Princeton University
  • Prof. Jayant Naralikar (2007) – Professor Emeritus and Founder Director of Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA)
  • Dr. Arun Netravali (2007) – Managing partner, OmniCapital, Former President of Bell Labs [1]
  • Dr. Jill Tarter (2007) – Astronomer, Director of the Center for SETI Research.
  • Mr. Dunu Roy (2007) – Political Activist
  • Mr. Rajaram Bojji (2007) – Anti collision Device Rail Pioneer

Techfest 2005 also came up with a problem statement only for school students – Junior, so that bright and young minds can be tapped earlier. Technoholix at Techfest 2005 was a phenomenal success. On display was David Coulthard’s McLaren – the first time ever a Formula 1 racer was on display in a college fest in India. This was accompanied by a spectacular laser show that left the audience awe-struck.

IIT kanpur would be coming with its peerless features in the coming event. For more ,check the link above.


  1. sir,
    can u tell how to get as complete lists of techfests?????

  2. Sir,
    Please tell me about these kind of fests in IIT’s in 2008.

  3. how can outside college students participate in your techfest.

  4. Thanks for your blog…
    title=”Karel” Karel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: